Official BS.Player forums  

Go Back   Official BS.Player forums > Main forum > Answered And Solved Questions

Answered And Solved Questions A good place to check before you post your question. All answered / solved posts are archived here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th September 2008
BS.Player Newbie

markster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default [SOLVED] Playing DVD files on my computer

I'm new to BS player so please bear with me. I've ripped some DVD files to my computer. I have downloaded BS Player Pro. I can get it to play the DVD files file by file (there are gaps in between) but can't get it to play them as a continuous film. Has anyone got any ideas because I've tried everything that I can think of.

Thanks
Mark
Old 12th September 2008
BS.Player Master

Tizio will become famous soon enough

What if you open the IFO file instead of the VOB files?
Old 12th September 2008
BS.Player Newbie

Default Sorry what is IFO file?

Sorry not sure what you mean? I don't know much about this stuff.
Old 12th September 2008
BS.Player Master

The IFO file contains all the information regarding the streams (audio, video, subs) contained in your VOB files (the ones you have ripped from your DVD)
If you only ripped the VOB files and not the IFO files, BSplayer will only be able to play VOB files one by one (they should weight 1GB each one, and contain more or less 1/4 of the entire movie each one, but it's not a rule), and here comes the gaps (and if this is your only problem you are lucky because sometimes you can't listen to the correct audio stream or read the subtitles with this method).
What you need is to open the IFO file with BSplayer to play it correctly (same as if you entered the DVD in your DVD drive)